Safaa

I was getting out of a familiar building with her…

I kept looking at her happily and feeling peace within…

She was asking me how I’ve been and telling me she missed me, and asking me for all the updates, making remarks about how I lost so much weight since she last saw me, how I look happier and more “me”…

I couldn’t reply, but she looked healthier and happier, much more than I ever remember seeing her… he cheeks were budding pink and her hair, her real hair was beautiful light brown and her eyes were shining…

I told her, I’d drive her home, for old time’s sake…

She said “no no”, I told her it was no trouble at all, and it will give us time for me to tell her everything… told her I could drive her to either Zamalek or Maadi and both would be on my way… for a second there she wasn’t sure where she’d go, she said she didn’t know and she’d rather wait for the driver to pick her up…

We  were walking down the street towards my car, and she held on to my arm asking me to say nothing to the girls who were waiting by a car… we approached them and I recognized some of my old co-workers as well as hers who were offering a ride because it was starting to rain, but I pointed at my car and said we were both heading to Maadi…

I begged her to come with me…

Someone was double parked and the door man of the building who seemed to have just cleaned it was rude about calling for someone to move it… I didn’t get angry, I just moved the car breaking some stuff on my way, stopped for her to get in and we moved…

The dream diverted into other meaningless dreams…

She died in May 2009, she was the second mother I had after my late nana, one more mother I never had.

~ by insomniac on August 17, 2011.

One Response to “Safaa”

  1. may her soul RIP

Leave a Reply

 
