The Coo-Coo Stigma

May be because I was born into a family of diagnosed and undiagnosed “coocoo heads” (whom i love/hate either way)…

May be because I grew up around an uncle who studied for his psychiatric diploma and basically spent his study-time analyzing most of those family members using medical jargon like “psychotic”, “clinically depressed”, and “maniac”…

May be because I watched enough movies that pay such tribute to psychoanalysis, or read enough about Freud, Jung, and psychological disorders…

May be because I have seen a real “schizophrenic” who turned out to be a “bipolar”…

May be because I have lived with a person who suffers from “depressive mania” (among other things) and and another who has enough destructive insecurities and childhood complexes who put me through hell just because they never even considered seeking treatment!

May be because I had suicidal friends for whom I had to cover-up…

May be because I have a hysteric mother and a couple of hysteric friends who need the world to revolve around their existence…

May be because I have a life-long experience of developing defense mechanisms and recognizing those of others…

May be because I enjoy philosophy and find it to be one of the greatest evidences to what a mind is a capable of…

May be because of all those things and a few more that I am open to the entire realm of psychology/psychiatry…

I believe in the power of the mind…

I believe the in the “ailments” of the mind…

I believe that a mind deserves to be taken care of and attended to by whichever means…

So…

Those who judge, label, or discredit those who seek the well-being of their minds, whichever way possible… I tell them:

 You should be admitted to a psychiatric facility where you get to experience ever ysymptom for which you have discredited, judged, or labeled another human being who had the right senses to attend to the well-being of their minds…  because you people, your minds lack what no therapy can retrieve…  HUMANITY!

~ by insomniac on June 19, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
