I remember…

 

“Tell me what you remember”

“I remember all those things that never happened, that would have happened”

“No, you’re talking about thoughts, things that happened in your head, or didn’t… tell me about the tangible things you remember”

 

I remember being so close, yet miles and miles apart…

I remember a smile on my face, yet sad tears overflowing…

I remember a smile on your face, yet sad tears hiding behind your eyes as they looked into my soul…

I remember intense feelings, yet heartbreaking silence…

I remember comforting words and promises, yet a friendship on the verge of breaking…

I remember holding on to all the reasons that made it the best thing to do…

it will be ok, we will be ok” we thought, we hoped, we were desperate to believe; it will just take time, to readjust…

it will be ok, we will be ok” I tell myself as I force a smile on my face holding on to the friendly gestures…

 

A while later, a couple of tears fall right from my eyes onto my hands without even rolling on my cheeks.

 

Hours later, she starts singing one of my favorite songs…

 

Let the love that was once a fire remain an ember

Let it sleep like a dead desire I only remember

 

And I hold on to the smile, and silently remember as I feel more determined to be ok.

 

 

~ by insomniac on January 22, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
