Voices

Music captures my heart an fills my existence with all sorts of feelings…

But the voices that glide with the music notes and fill its space is… indescribable…

In Music & Lyrics, Drew Barrymore said that music was the looks that grant instant attraction, and lyrics were the character of a song… the voice, the voice is the charm that uses words to materialize the feel of the music, or is it the other way around… I guess the voice is what makes you unable tell where the music ends and where the words begin, they all blend leaving you with feelings so clear, yet so obscure of what a song triggers in you…

Voices are magical… not only do they have music of their own, and they give regular words special significance…

 

Frank Sinatra’s voice makes me feel warm and surrounds my heart with both tenderness and humor…

Ella Fitzgerald’s voice makes me happy and gives me a feeling of utter joy, even when her words are heartbreaking…

Nina Simone’s voice fills me with strength and has a healing power to it…

Abdel Wahab’s voice gives a feeling of peace and tranquility…

Fareed Al Atrache’s voice awakens sadness in me, the kind of sadness that comes with no regrets, but rather with peace and acceptance…

Dean Martin’s voice simply flirts with me and I find myself giggling…

Charles Aznavour’s voice intrigues me with its strange intensity yet somehow its lightness…

Fayrouz’s voice defines love for me with its subtle happiness and its submitting sorrow…

Andrea Bocelli‘s voice overwhelms me and fills my heart with a strange combination of  joy and serenity and it takes me to different world where there is nothing but his voice…

Edith Piaf’s voice just fills me with obscure pain and raw melancholy…

 

There are more and more who my mind fails to recall right now…

But I only listen to Edith Piaf lately… and every inch of me aches with her voice, and I can’t stop!

I no longer play Non, Je ne Regrete Rien…  Padam Padam and La Foule make me cringe, yet for some reason I play them over and over…

And it just hurts… but I do not want to stop!

~ by insomniac on October 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
