Dance… Dance… Dance…

 

The music plays, our eyes meet, and before we know it, our eyes and hearts are transfixed taking us away to a different world where nothing but music plays…

We move closer, our hands touch, and then they hold on to one another as our bodies get closer in a rhythm that wraps around us as we move so gracefully in an eternal dance…

We dance and we dance and we dance… the world slowly vanishes and turns into a blur… and we dance…

The music never stops, but the noise gets louder… sometimes it comes from the blur, and sometimes it comes from inside of us… louder and louder…

Our rhythm is slightly disturbed, and somehow our steps stumble and we start stepping on each others’ feet…

It hurts…

We move apart to keep our feet safe; I twirl and twirl further away from you with my eyes closed so I won’t face the blur on my own without your hands holding mine…

And as I twirl, your fingers get hold of mine again, and they interlock and I feel your arms pulling me closer again as I twirl and twirl back into them…

And I open up my eyes again to find your smiling face right in front of me… and for a moment in time, the blur vanishes and I hear music again… and we dance…

But this time I know, that the dance cannot be eternal… that soon enough, there will be more noise, and that at some point, the noise will cause the music to fade, and that we will lose our rhythm, and then we will do nothing but step on each others’ feet, and it will hurt… and then I will twirl and twirl away from you with my eyes closed so I would not  see you as you fade into the blur…

There was a time I wouldn’t have minded you stepping on my feet, a time when I didn’t feel that pain… but  it hurts now, and it hurts to know that the dance will end…

But dances end, I suppose…

 

Photo Credit*: Off Flickr as usual, months ago, no longer have the link!

~ by insomniac on October 9, 2010.

4 Responses to “Dance… Dance… Dance…”

  1. Beautiful…

  2. ever thought that the one is who you’d comfortably return to after any dance? home? where you don’t think of things as dancing in the first place?

    food for thought ..

    • the dance is not a dance… the dance is not something to go home from… the dance is… perhaps all you ever wanted to last, but no one can dance for a life time i suppose…

Leave a Reply

 
