So it’s not just me!

I watched Before Sunrise and Before Sunset a few months ago. Each of the movies is definitely something, but my personal favorite is the latter; I related, and I was rather happy with the ending especially that it ended with Nina Simone’s Just in Time (in case you haven’t noticed, I am a huge Nina fan).

The quote below is from one of my two favorite scenes in the movie, I couldn’t put the other one because to me, it’s the climax of the movie and it would ruin it for those who haven’t seen it.

Jesse: You know, I think that book that I wrote, in a way, was like building something. So that I wouldn’t forget the details of the time that we spent together. You know like, just as a reminder that…that once we really did meet, you know, that this was real. This happened.

Céline: I’m happy you’re saying that because…I mean, I always feel like a freak because I’m never able to move on like (snaps her fingers) this! You know? People just have an affair or even…entire relationships…they break up and they forget! They move on like they would have changed brand of cereals! I feel I was never able to forget anyone I’ve been with. Because each person have…their own specific qualities. You can never replace anyone. What is lost is lost.

Each relationship when it ends really damages me; I never fully recover. That’s why I’m very careful with getting involved because…it hurts too much! Even getting laid (laughs nercously)- I actually don’t do that. I will miss of the person the most mundane things. Like I’m obsessed with little things.

Maybe I’m crazy, but…when I was a little girl, my mom told me that I was always late to school. One day she followed me to see why. I was looking at chestnuts falling from the trees rolling on the sidewalk or…ants crossing the road…the way a leaf casts a shadow on a tree trunk…little things. I think it’s the same with people. I see in them little details so specific to each of them that move me and that I miss, and…will always miss. You can never replace anyone, because everyone is made of such beautiful specific details.

(Smiling directly at Jesse.) Like I remember the way your beard has a little bit of red in it. And how the sun was making it glow that…that morning, right before you left. I remember that and…I missed it! I’m really crazy, right?

I love how she said it, how she paused between each phrase and the next, and I loved the way he looked at her as she spoke!

I just couldn’t have possibly said it any better! I never exactly lost track of time watching the details like she described, but my mind always keeps track of all the details I see in things and in people, and they always haunt me when they replay in my head. I always thought I was the only one who felt that way, but there must be other kookoo heads out there if someone could sit down and write a script that described it that well!!!

For those who haven’t seen the movies, do check it out, it’s totally worth it, and until then, just listen to the song (linked again), it’s an uplifting tune, for a change :)

~ by insomniac on March 31, 2010.

11 Responses to “So it’s not just me!”

  1. hmm ..

    veeeery interesting!

  2. downloading as am writing :)) thanks for sharing .. :) i recommend 500 days of summer :)

    • you will like them isA :)

      watched 500 days of summer, liked the idea, but didn’t like the acting much… also may be because i relate to the “before sunset” personas, the bitterness and cynicism is brilliant and real and you’ll know what i mean when you see how Ethan Hawk and Julie Delpy deliver it!!!!

      oh i can’t wait for a feedback :)

  3. two of my favorite movies
    Although i prefer “before sunrise” which is the best romantic movie i ever saw, cause to me romance is always about conversations, a long intimate honest conversation is as perfect as romance can get
    good taste in movies!
    if you have more of that keep us informed

    • “Before Sunrise” is sweet and innocent and rather naive and unreal… “Before Sunset” however is more real and becomes rather raw at the end; it’s the realization that life isn’t remotely half of what you thought it was when you were younger… it’s mature and painful to an extent, but it still leaves you with a smile, and it still has the romance and the conversations, but the kind of conversation you can relate to, not being a teenager or an early 20 something person anymore, and that’s why i like it more, because i relate!

      i wrote this on my old blog about “The English Patient”, do see the trailer and don’t read the quotes before watching it if you haven’t… and i also recommend “The Crucible” for Daniel Day Lewis, but it’s not a romance as much as it is good drama and perfectly written lines by the Arthur Miller… i must warn you though, my taste in movies is rather intense :)

    • maybe sometimes it’s good to remember how it used to feel when we were young, plus Vienna was perfect.
      I’ve seen both of those movies, loved “the english patient” the first time i saw it.
      I was right, your movies taste is good

  4. u make me cry , but thanx ana etamant 3ala nafsy …i’m normal

  5. YES! another Nina Simone fan! Loooooooovvvveeee Before Sunset. Can watch it over and over and always notice something new.

  6. […] doesn’t remind me of anyone in particular, but it has the same effect the quote I posted there had on me… I relate, not literally, and not to exclussively one […]

Leave a Reply

 
