فوضى الحواس

Like I needed a book that talks about emotional messes…

But the writing style was captivating, and I needed that; I needed a world of a make-believe mess where I could get lost in words that well put to get distracted from all the inconveniences…

I will share the ones that touched me for one reason or the other, but I did like a lot more than I did like those, because of all the metaphors and the amazing writing style…

“أينتهي الحب عندما نبدأ بالضحك من الأشياء التي بكينا بسببها يوماً؟”

I’ve always wondered if the situations we perceive as tragedies are the ones that bring us closer to  some people, and that the moment we stop seeing the same situations as tragedies is the moment we lose that bond with those people!


الناس؟ إنهم لا يطرحون عليك عادة، إلا أسئلة غبية، يجبرونك على الرد عليها بأجوبة غبية مثلها.. يسألونك مثلا ماذا تعمل.. لا ماذا كنت تريد أن تكون. يسألونك ماذا تملك.. لا ماذا فقدت. يسألونك عن أخبار المرأة التي تزوجتها .. لا عن أخبار تلك التي تحبها. يسألونك ما اسمك.. لا ما إذا كان هذا الاسم يناسبك. يسألونك ما عمرك.. لا كم عشت من هذا العمر. يسألونك أي مدينة تسكن.. لا أية مدينة تسكنك. يسألونك هل تصلي ..لا يسألونك هل تخاف الله. ولذا تعودت أن أجيب عن هذه الأسئلة بالصمت. فنحن عندما نصمت نجبر الآخرين على تدارك خطأهم.”

I couldn’t agree more! I wish I could learn the language of silence that would shut up all the idiots who do not know what they should be asking!


في الواقع كنت أريد أن أكون ممثلا.. أو روائيا، كي أعيش أكثر من حياة.. إن حياة واحدة لا تكفيني. أنا أنتمي إلى جيل يعاني أزمة عمر، وأنفق حياته قبل أن يعيشها.

I couldn’t have said it better! I’ve always felt like my life will not be long enough for me to do all the things I want to do, or will not allow me to do them all… and yeah, I sort of wished I were either just to get to live different lives in this one!


وحدهم الأغبياء لا يغيرون رأيهم!

I could be justifying why I change my mind so often… but I do think it’s a good thing to keep an open mind about everything because everything in life changes every moment, and perhaps it’s worth seeing things with a new perspective.


في مواجهة الحب، كما في مواجهة الموت، نحن متساوون. لا يفيدنا شيء: لا ثقافتنا.. لا خبرتنا.. ولا ذكاؤنا.. ولا تذاكينا.

It scares me that my wit won’t get me out of this one!


“أحيانا، أحب استسلامي . يمنحني فرصة تأمل العالم دون جهد. وكأنني لست معنية به. في الواقع، أثناء ذلك أكون في حالة كتابة

.. صامتة.

It doesn’t exactly happen often enough, because I am usually busy objecting and rebelling against things that shouldn’t be, which brings me to the next quote…


” ألا تكون لك قدرة على الغضب، أو رغبة فيه، يعني أنك غادرت شبابك لا غير. أو أن تلك الحرائق غادرتك خيبة بعد أخرى. حتى أنك لم تعد تملك الحماس للجدل في شيء. ولا حتى في قضايا كانت تبدو لك في السابق من الأهمية، أو من المثالية، بحيث كنت مستعدا للموت من أجلها!

There is something about anger; it’s like a fire, that can bring light and warmth, just as long as it is controlled and contained before it starts burning everything. This is one of the things I love about my anger when it’s not out of control, when I still feel like I can express it… and it sucks when I just let it burn inside and not say a word because I know it won’t change a thing, I feel old and helpless and numb.


” فأنا أدري أن كل إنسان عفيف، يحمل في داخله قدرا كافيا من القذارة، قد تطفو يوما فتغرقحسناته، تماما كما أن في أعماق كل إنسان سيء، شعلة صغيرة للخير، ستضيء داخله يوما ، في اللحظة التي يتوقعها الأقل.

Don’t we all carry our angels and demons inside? I believe in the good in people, but sadly, I only see my own demons and fail to see those of others just because I perceive them as “good”


” حين نكون تعساء ندرك تعاستنا. ولكن عندما نكون سعداء، لا نعي ذلك إلا في ما بعد. إن السعادة اكتشاف متأخر.

*sigh* Touché


” أذكر أنني، قرأت يوما بحثًا نفسيا، يقول إن وقوعنا في الحب، لا علاقة له بمن نحب. وإنما لتصادف مروره في حياتنا بفترة نكون فيها دون مناعة عاطفية، لأننا خارجون توا من وعكة عشقية. “فنلتقط حباكما نلتقطرشحابين فصلين!

Allahuma e7fazna! And…

” الحب ليس سوى حالة ارتياب. فكيف لك أن تكون على يقين من إحساس مبني أصلا على فوضى الحواس، وعلى حالة متبادلة

من سوء الفهم، يتوقع فيها كلّ واحد أنه يعرف عن الآخر ما يكفي ليحبه.

Now isn’t this the mistake we all do, we assume the other person will know how to love us and they probably assume the same, and then we fail to communicate, but we’re too emotionally dependent, so we keep on torturing those we love as well as our selves…


Ahlam Mostaghanemy made me fall in love again with Arabic literature! She uses and twists words and phrases with such ease, without making me lose track of the thought; it’s like she connects on some higher level and her words are felt, not just read! She simply speaks a language both my heart and my mind understand effortlessly. Check her out, it’s totally worth it!

~ by insomniac on March 9, 2010.

8 Responses to “فوضى الحواس”

  1. that was a really nice collection of excerpts.

  2. that was really nice, looks like a book to be read :)

    this was my favorite:

    الناس؟ إنهم لا يطرحون عليك عادة، إلا أسئلة غبية، يجبرونك على الرد عليها بأجوبة غبية مثلها.. يسألونك مثلا ماذا تعمل.. لا ماذا كنت تريد أن تكون. يسألونك ماذا تملك.. لا ماذا فقدت. يسألونك عن أخبار المرأة التي تزوجتها .. لا عن أخبار تلك التي تحبها. يسألونك ما اسمك.. لا ما إذا كان هذا الاسم يناسبك. يسألونك ما عمرك.. لا كم عشت من هذا العمر. يسألونك أي مدينة تسكن.. لا أية مدينة تسكنك. يسألونك هل تصلي ..لا يسألونك هل تخاف الله. ولذا تعودت أن أجيب عن هذه الأسئلة بالصمت. فنحن عندما نصمت نجبر الآخرين على تدارك خطأهم

    • yeah… makes you think twice before you ask anybody a question, no?

    • twice is an underestimation. looks like I’ll take like half an hour to make up my mind whether to ask a question or not :D

      much of a hassle going through all the scenarios then deciding that a question is worth asking. Or balash menno a7san :))

  3. I totally feel this one:
    “ في مواجهة الحب، كما في مواجهة الموت، نحن متساوون. لا يفيدنا شيء: لا ثقافتنا.. لا خبرتنا.. ولا ذكاؤنا.. ولا تذاكينا.“

    Thanks for sharing, I am downloading the book now :)

  4. Ahlam Mostaghanemy made me fall in love again with Arabic literature! She uses and twists words and phrases with such ease, without making me lose track of the thought; it’s like she connects on some higher level and her words are felt, not just read! She simply speaks a language both my heart and my mind understand effortlessly. Check her out, it’s totally worth it!

Leave a Reply

 
